#9187 [UX] Preserving a user account produces output saying it was deleted
Closed: fixed by frenaud. Opened by frenaud.

Ticket was cloned from Red Hat Bugzilla (product Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8): Bug 2022028

Please note that this Bug is private and may not be accessible as it contains confidential Red Hat customer information.

To preserve a user account, the administrator can use the `ipa user-del` command with the `--preserve` option, which works as intended. However, in the output, it says that the user account has been deleted rather then preserved. In combination with the fact that we use "del" in the command, this can be confusing. 
One customer has filed a DDF bug about this: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2014823
The documentation team has extended the introduction and added a note about the output to decrease the potential for confusion. However, a much better option would be to change at least the output wording.

Metadata Update from @frenaud:
- Custom field rhbz adjusted to https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2022028

Issue linked to bug 2022028

Metadata Update from @frenaud:
- Issue assigned to frenaud

Metadata Update from @frenaud:
- Custom field on_review adjusted to https://github.com/freeipa/freeipa/pull/6329

Metadata Update from @frenaud:
- Custom field rhbz adjusted to https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2022028, https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2100227 (was: https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=2022028)

master:

  • cbc18ff8c761ea73784153ef43d239f087fd391e Preserve user: fix the confusing summary
  • 3732349bc23fbe1b9ab3b3f8d65319ab20ef8114 xmlrpc tests: updated expected output for preserved user

ipa-4-9:

  • ff4152539b96d309dcceaf854a3e0a49f435acff Preserve user: fix the confusing summary
  • 4984ff210a169129e4e56b10e54e9c795520855c xmlrpc tests: updated expected output for preserved user

Metadata Update from @frenaud:
- Issue close_status updated to: fixed
- Issue status updated to: Closed (was: Open)

Metadata Update from @frenaud:
- Custom field changelog adjusted to Previously, the command to preserve a user account used to display a confusing output "Deleted user: " although the user was preserved and not deleted. The command now displays "Preserved user: " for preserved users.

Metadata