Hello, I received a pull request https://src.fedoraproject.org/rpms/libical/pull-request/1 and it was not complete, thus I applied the patch manually, added needed bits and committed it. Obviously, I cannot merge the pull request, thus I made a comment in the pull request that I committed it and I closed it without merging (that was the only way I saw there). Then I received a mail with text:
mcrha canceled a pull-request against the project: libical that you are following. Cancelled pull-request: ...
libical
That's obviously wrong.
I do not want pagure to parse the comments for "well known words" and decide based on their existence whether the close without merge was due to committed manually or rejected, I'd rather have a chance to either close the pull request as "Resolved - Accepted" or "Resolved - Rejected" (or "Cancelled" or anything like that, the wording doesn't matter as long as I can differentiate between accepted and rejected state).
I believe that it's not uncommon to receive incomplete patches or patches which require some tidy-up, thus the project maintainers do need to apply the patch manually, rather than through the web UI.
From pagure's point of view at the moment, you did not merge the PR in the UI, so you canceled it. We can change the wording from 'Canceled' to 'Closed' if you like though. It is known that merging manually doesn't close the PR itself (that's #1683) and still to be fixed.
There is a way to close the PR as merged, but adding 'Merges ' in the commit message before pushing the commit manually.
This does require the pagure hook to be enabled in the settings and this is currently not working on src.fp.o due to the way the hooks are set-up (cf #2874). I'm hoping to fix this one in the next release.
In the mean time I'm going to close this ticket as duplicate.
Thanks for your report though :)
Metadata Update from @pingou: - Issue close_status updated to: Duplicate
Messages about the canceled pull requests are quite confusing. The button already says "Close PR without merging it". I would suggest to use consistently "close" everywhere: both on the web and in the email notifications.